Image of Library Shelves with books

Distinguished Faculty

The Distinguished Faculty Awards are annually awarded and are designed to recognize Green River College Faculty members who by their teaching and their campus and community involvement have demonstrated distinguished service to education.

The first award was made in 1985 to Marv Nelson. Marv was one of the original science faculty, teaching physics until his retirement. Marv was an innovative teacher and has been nationally recognized through work with the National Science Foundation, American Physics Society, and more. In 2007, Green River named its brand new science complex the Marv Nelson Science Center. Marv continues to give back to Green River today by serving on the Foundation Board.

76 Faculty members have been named Distinguished Faculty Members since 1985.

Nominations for the
2019 Distinguished Faculty Awards will open Spring 2019.